5k is tomorrow!

Screen Shot 2014-04-18 at 10.57.29 PM

Day 55

Today was another beautiful/partly cloudy Seattle spring day. The Japanese maple tree has finally spread out all of it’s leaves and, in the past week, we’ve been enjoying slightly more sunshine than rain, which definitely adds to the happiness factor. I also gave away a bunch of the sugar cookies I made yesterday to friends in our building. Luckily, they didn’t think it was strange that I was making animal shaped sugar cookies and frosting them in ridiculous colors despite the fact that I’m twenty-six. The cookies that I didn’t give away, I spent the rest of the day alternately snacking on and reading my book (and of course, saved some cool animal cookies for Josh, too.)

And, in case you’re wondering, they were absolutely delicious. To save time, I write down most of my favorite recipes – especially if I originally get them online – that way I’ll always have them even if they disappear from the internet.

This afternoon, I finally finished reading Devil in the White City which I really enjoyed.Overall, I think the author did a great job of weaving together the different pieces of the story – from information about H.H. Holmes, to the architects behind the Fair and everything in between. I really enjoyed learning more about Frederick Olmsted, who designed the grounds for the Fair, the grounds at Smith College and, more famously, Central Park in New York (of course, I also enjoyed learning about H.H. Holmes, too!)

We also found out this afternoon that Josh won tickets to another Sounder’s soccer game! His company was throwing a fun Friday event and he entered a drawing and won! That’s twice so far this year that Josh has won tickets to things – I think maybe we’ll start entering raffles for new cars, too, haha. We’ll be heading to the game next Saturday with our scarves in tow. We’d bring Winston, too, but I don’t think the powers that be would let him in without a service dog certification.

Tomorrow morning Josh and I are getting up bright and early to head to the 5k down on Alki. It’s 3.10 miles total – with a 1.5 ish mile down the beach and then back. The fact that people will be running against me in the other direction could either be demoralizing or encouraging; I can’t decide. In any case, we’re putting on our running shoes and heading out the door by about 7:00 to make sure we have parking and can pick up our registration packets. I may also try to sneak in a little tiny sip or two of coffee in our busy morning schedule, but maybe not. I imagine running will probably wake me up just as much as the caffeine.

So wish us luck! I will report back tomorrow to let you all know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

