Sugar Cookies!

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 11.39.38 PM

Day 54

After a hiatus from baking, I finally got around to choosing a cookie recipe from this list over here. I can’t remember the last time I made sugar cookies and I’ve wanted to use the cookie cutters we brought from his parent’s house practically since the day we got them. Since it rained all morning and afternoon, today was the perfect excuse to get some baking done.

First, I sifted the powdered sugar, then mixed in the melted butter until it was light and fluffy. Next, I added an egg, vanilla and almond extracts.

Screen Shot 2014-04-18 at 12.03.36 AM

On the side, I also sifted together the flour and baking soda and baking powder before sifting it into the sugar mixture. After mixing until it formed a dough, I divided that in two and refrigerated it for fifteen to twenty minutes. With all the powdered sugar and butter, this dough kind of melts when it gets too warm and cracks, so the fridge step really helps.

While the dough was chilling, I picked out the cookie cutters I wanted to use and washed them.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 11.39.58 PM

After taking the dough out of the fridge, I rolled it out until it was about a 1/4″ – 1/8″ thick and cut out as many shapes as possible. I found that the thicker the dough, the easier it was to use the cookie cutters without the shapes tearing apart when I picked them up to move them to a cookie sheet. Even if they tear, though, they’re pretty easy to repair with a little gentle smooshing to fix splits.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 11.40.13 PM

These only need to bake at 375F for about 7 – 8 minutes, or until golden brown.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 11.40.27 PM

Once the cookies cooled, I made a batch of no-egg icing from here and it worked perfectly! I just poured some into a few ziplock bags (with food coloring) and went crazy with purple cats, blue dogs, green Washington states, blue Washington states and a yellow rhino or two.

Screen Shot 2014-04-17 at 11.40.47 PM

Tomorrow, I’m planning on giving a plateful to our neighbors and maybe to our new front office staff, too!

Leave a Reply

