Cinnamon Swirl Bread and Zombies, Run!

week 5 thursday

Day 33

1. I’m grateful for my love of baking.

This may look like regular bread, but look closer – that’s cinnamon and sugar on the crust! I have been thinking about making cinnamon swirl bread since my mom and I started talking about the sticky bread pudding she made a few weeks ago. Bread pudding is a delicious, and I think Scottish, dessert made with sweetened bread, eggs, sugar and – if I’m lucky – caramel on top. Mom was telling me she made it with cinnamon swirl bread and the people in her office went crazy for it. So, bread desserts have been on my mind.

There was a much more involved recipe, but after making two loaves of sourdough earlier this week I wasn’t up for an advanced jog through bakery school. I’d like to point out that I photographed it from this angle because I’ve been nibbling on the other end off and on all day (mostly on). To save myself, and make sure there was some left for Josh, I finished slicing it and put it in the freezer. That’s something I’ve picked up along the way – slicing bread before I freeze it. When I would go on baking binges in the past, sometimes we wouldn’t be able to eat the loaf fast enough before it spoiled. Though this didn’t happen often – trust me, I’m normally slicing into that thing right after I pull it out of the oven which is a serious no-no – it was always really disappointing to throw away hours of work.

So, I spent five minutes googling my baker’s dilemma and discovered the work-around I mentioned above. Anyway. This loaf of bread is basically a giant baked donut. Although I didn’t take pictures of the process, you too can spread the joy and make your own to consume this weekend. Here is the recipe. Just in case you aren’t convinced, it’s just as amazing as waking up to cinnamon rolls and a hundred times easier to make. Unless you make those ones out of the can. In which case, forgo those and bake this instead.

2. I am grateful that (most days) I can motivate myself to run.

This morning I got in another two-mile and then some run in trying to train for the 5k Josh and I signed up for in April. I used the Zombies, Run! app and went on another mission – this time to save a kid and bring fuel back to the Abel Township. Before, I just listened to the story/mission instructions, but I finally downloaded music onto my phone yesterday. So, as I was running today I realized the songs I was listening to were absolutely perfect for zombie missions and I almost laughed myself off the treadmill. While trying to outpace the zombies I listened to: Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked by Cage the Elephant, Renegade by Styx, Beat It by Michael Jackson and others. I didn’t realize I was secretly in training for the zombie apocalypse before downloading this app, but I guess I was…

3. I’m grateful for friends (especially the good ones – you know who you are!)

For the first time in a long time I had a wonderful, scatterbrained, how’s-it-going kind of conversations with a friend I don’t get to see enough anymore. Even with all the technology we have, it’s easy (if not more so) to put off saying hello to people and I feel like it’s extra awesome when we have the time to reconnect. We ended up chatting for most of the afternoon and I left super inspired to write some short horror stories. A far cry from the children’s book I was talking about yesterday, but just as much fun.

Leave a Reply

